The job market – friend or foe?

25 Sep

I recently quit my job as a teacher at the school and it’s not because I didn’t like it, but because it wasn’t well paid and I definitely need the money right now. It’s funny how people would think that just because you work at a private school that means you’re better paid… They’re wrong! I guess it’s a bit better than teaching at a public school, but better in this case is simply not good enough. I had a great time working there and definitely learned a lot. The point is that it was never my intention to work as a teacher, it was just a plan B for a while. Now, however, I think it’s about time I find something in my area of expertise – graphic design, arts, etc. The worst part is that I’m sending e-mails, CVs, portfolios EVERY SINGLE DAY, and there’s no reply. Not one! What’s that about? I knew it’s going to be hard, but not that hard… Is it because I’m 21 (a.k.a. very young and presumably “inexperienced”) or is it just because I still haven’t gotten my bachelor’s degree? I don’t know, but isn’t the whole idea someone to give you a chance? Everybody is inexperienced at first, but that’s the thing. How can you get experience if nobody is hiring you because a lack of one? I’m pretty confident about my skills and my portfolio. As a matter of fact, I’m very pleased with my portfolio 🙂 *moment of self-pride* SO, that makes me wonder why nobody is calling…

3 Responses to “The job market – friend or foe?”

  1. nilza a. September 25, 2010 at 20:35 #

    Good luck with the job hunting!
    And thank you for visiting my blog and helping me to support WFP 🙂 I’m glad to help you support the World Wildlife Fund 😉

  2. incomepowerboost October 3, 2010 at 01:49 #

    I totally know what you mean it’s a catch 22. I ran into the same thing many times over the years. You cant get the job with out experience but you cant get experience without a job.

    Just keep at it and eventually something will go your way.

    You also have the option of becoming self-employed. The benefit of that is you can take matters into your own hands and truly control your destiny.

    Either way I wish you great success in whatever you do and wish you all the best days to come

    • VG October 3, 2010 at 15:49 #

      Catch 22 is the phrase i was looking for 😀 Thank you for understanding and encouraging me 🙂 I hope i find something soon. All the best to you and thank u again for the nice words!

Leave a Reply

